EYM TRIO

Marc Michel

Born in the Puy en Velay (France) in October, 1986, it is at the age of 4 that Marc Michel was introduced to the music and in particular to the guitar that he learned on his own, thanks to his father, folk guitarist.

He begins the battery with 10 years old, leading in parallel studies of classic percussions, writing and chamber music, disciplines in which he will obtain numerous prices of academies (Clermont-Ferrand, Lyon – where he meets the future EYM trio – and Paris).

After having studied with great masters such as Sangoma Everett, Ari Hoenig, Clarence Penn, he is offered a grant in Master’s degree of jazz in the Royal Academy of Music in London. Over there he goes alongside and plays with, among others, Larry Goldings, Dave Holland, Will Vinson, Nikki Isles, John Taylor, John Hollenbeck in prestigious clubs of the city as Ronnie Scott, The The Vortex, Oliver’s etc. He also works since few years with big jazzmen of the French and international scenes as Jim Rotondi, Damon Brown, Zhenya Strigalev. He played (in particular with EYM trio) in tours which led him in Italy, Croatia, England (Queen Elisabeth hall), Spain, Switzerland, Germany and in the French clubs among which the Sunside, Le Baiser Salé, hot club in Lyon, l’Upercut in Marseilla etc.

Distinguishing him by an impeccable technique, a big polyrhythmic ease, as well as by his musicality, he is also a composer, drawing his inspiration from the culture he met on his path. Multi-versatile, he also plays the guitar, the piano and the classic percussions.

In 2013 he records the album ” Genesi ” with EYM trio in wich he signs the theme “Pocket Waltz”.

Together they will be prize-winners in 2015 of the springboard young talents of the Festival Jazz in Saint Germain des Prés, the national competition of the Defense Jazz Festival as well as the Festival Jazz to Gexto.

Marc

EYM TRIO

Marc Michel

Né au Puy en Velay 1986, c’est à l’âge de 4 ans que Marc Michel a été initié à la musique et en particulier à la guitare qu’il a apprise en autodidacte grâce à son père, guitariste folk.

Il commence la batterie à 10 ans menant en parallèle des études de percussion classique, d’écriture et de musique de chambre, disciplines dans lesquelles il obtiendra de nombreux prix de conservatoires (Clermont-Ferrand, Lyon – où il rencontre le futur EYM trio – et Paris).

Après avoir étudié avec des grands maîtres tels Sangoma Everett, Ari Hoenig, Clarence Penn, il se voit offrir une place et une bourse en master de jazz à la Royal Academy of Music à Londres. Là-bas il côtoie et joue avec, entre autre, Larry Goldings, Dave Holland, Will Vinson, Nikki Isles, John Taylor, John Hollenbeck dans les prestigieux clubs de la ville comme le Ronnie’s Scott, Le Vortex, Oliver’s etc. Il travaille également depuis quelques années avec de grands jazzmen de la scène française et internationale (Jim Rotondi, Damon Brown, Zhenya Strigalev …). Il s’est produit (notamment avec EYM trio) dans des tournées qui l’ont mené en Inde Italie, Croatie, Angleterre (Queen Elisabeth hall), Espagne, Suisse, Allemagne et dans les clubs français dont le Sunside, le Baiser salé, le hot club à Lyon, l’ Uppercut à Marseille…

Se démarquant par une technique impeccable, une grande aisance polyrythmique ainsi que par sa musicalité, il est également compositeur, puisant son inspiration dans les cultures qu’il a rencontrées sur son chemin. Polyvalent, il joue également de la guitare, du piano et des percussions classiques.

En 2013 il enregistre l’album Genesi pui l’album Khamsin en 2016 avec EYM Trio. Ensemble ils seront lauréats en 2015 du concours national de Jazz à la Défense du tremplin de Jazz à Saint-Germain-des-Prés, et de la Getxo internationale jazz competition. 

Marc