EYM TRIO

Elie Dufour

Born in Guilherand-Granges (France) on September 20th, 1989, Elie Dufour is passionate since his 6 years about the piano and it is rocked by the recordings of Claude Nougaro, Ella Fitzgerald, Fats Waller and Miles Davis that he begins to study jazz on his own, at the same time as long studies of classic piano. From an early age, he already improvises on classic pieces which are proposed to him during his studies. It is with 14 years that he decide to dash fully on jazz and from then, he will learn a lof of the experiences of masters as Eric Moulin, Olivier Truchot, Mario Stantchev, Franck Avitabile, Mulgrew Miller, Jason Lindner. He will study to the Academy of Lyon ( CNR).

While his journeys, he is passionate about the musics of the world. He falls in love with afro-Cuban rhythms during a tour in Latin America as well as with claves flamencas and gnawa during a tour in Andalusia. He dashes then into a pushed learning of the musics of Eastern Europe the asymetric claves, the foundations and the subtleties that he perfectly integrates.

Today, mixed with the jazz, all these musics are an integral part of his play at the piano, play that he develops completely with his band, EYM trio and with whom he records his first disk of personal compositions “Genesi ” in the studio Artesuono in Udine ( Italy) in 2013.

Very active on the French and European stages since 2011, we can regularly see him with EYM trio, Revival Motown, Voodoo Kasstou, Grabben Orchestra as well as in association with musicians such as Mohamed Abozekry, Mario Stantchev. He also gave concerts solo as representations in music to the image.

Recently he played, among others, on the stages of Jazz à Vienne, The Defense Jazz Festival, Getxo Jazz festival, Teatro Rossetti, Fort en Jazz, Moz’ Aïque festival, Magic Mirrors, theater of Briançonnais (Altitude Jazz Festival), theater Jean Marais (Saint-Fons Jazz Festival), Festival mille et une notes, Vault Jazz Festival, Un Doua de jazz, without forgetting tours in Ecuador / Colombia, Spain, Italy, Slovenia, Croatia, as well as in the jazz clubs of these countries.

To note also that he was awarded to the festival Jazz à Vienne, jazz à Vannes as well as in the Golden Trophy and, quite recently, prize-winner of the springboard young talents of the Festival Jazz in Saint Germain des Prés, in the national competition of the Defense Jazz Festival and to the Festival Jazz of Gexto.

BO3O4738

EYM TRIO

Elie Dufour

Né en Ardèche en 1989, Elie Dufour se passionne dès l’âge de 6 ans pour le piano et c’est bercé par les enregistrements de Ella Fitzgerald, Fats Waller et Miles Davis, Claude Nougaro, Renaud Garcia-Fons qu’il commence à étudier le jazz seul, parallèlement à de longues études de piano classique. Dès son plus jeune âge il improvise déjà autour de morceaux classiques qui lui sont proposés durant ses études. C’est à 14 ans qu’il décide de se lancer à part entière dans le jazz et dès lors il se nourrira de l’expérience de maîtres comme Eric Moulin, Olivier Truchot, Mario Stantchev, Franck Avitabile, Mulgrew Miller, Jason Lindner. Il fera ses études au conservatoire de Lyon.

Au fil de ses voyages, il se passionne pour les musiques du monde. Il tombe amoureux des rythmes afro-cubains lors d’une tournée en Amérique latine ainsi que des claves flamencas et gnawa lors d’une tournée en Andalousie. Il se lance ensuite dans un apprentissage poussé des musiques d’Europe orientale dont il intègre les claves asymétriques, les ornementations, et les subtilités.

Aujourd’hui, mêlées au jazz, toutes ces musiques font partie intégrante de son jeu au piano, jeu qu’il développe avec son groupe, EYM Trio. Il enregistre son premier disque de compositions personnelles Genesi au studio Artesuono à Udine (Italie) en 2013, puis un deuxième, Khamsin, en 2016 au studio de Meudon (Paris) où il invite ses amis virtuoses Mohamed Abozekry au oud et Marian Badoï à l’accordéon.

Très actif sur la scène française et Européenne depuis 2011, il a reçu en 2015 le 1er prix du concours national de Jazz de La défense, et du tremplin de Jazz à Saint-Germain-des-Près. Il reçoit également le prix du public et le prix de soliste décerné par le public au concours international de Getxo en Espagne.

On a pu le voir récemment sur des scènes comme : Jazz à Vienne, La défense jazz festival, Getxo Jazz festival, Teatro Rossetti, Fort en Jazz, Festival Moz’Aïque, Magic Mirrors, Maison des cultures du Monde et bien d’autres… Également en tournée en Inde, Espagne, Italie, Slovénie, CroatieEquateur/Colombie.

 

BO3O4738